At the heart of Moorabbin Junction, you will discover Moorabbin’s beloved Station.
Each day, thousands of busy commuters use Moorabbin Station to navigate their way around Melbourne, with many connecting to bus services departing from the depot on the doorstep. Yet despite the many thousands of people that use the station each day, few know its rich history.
The station was originally opened as ‘South Brighton’ in December 1881 and was later dubbed ‘Moorabbin’ from 1907 onwards due to the confusion over the multiple Brighton stations.
For some time the railway gates caused heavy bottlenecked traffic which would bank Sunday drivers up for miles. An open letter was even published by an unknown author in the “Frankston Standard” newspaper that highlighted the community’s frustration over the “uneconomic, dangerous mid-Victorian railway gates”.
“Enough petrol is wasted at Moorabbin Gates each day, which in a year, would fill a tanker” the anonymous writer claims, urging the Council to take notice of the neglected time and resources. The gates were later fixed in 1958 by engineer L.A. McCallum.
However, the concourse wasn’t out of the woods yet, as a fire broke out in 1994 that destroyed the area. A brigade spokeswoman said it took “10 fire units” to bring the blaze in the brick station and shopping complex under control.
In present day, the station is housed with an enclosed waiting area, several small shops, public toilets, and customer service and information/Myki facilities. The platforms 1, 2 & 3 have an island layout and welcome trains running on the Frankston line.
Words & Photos by Mikaela Copland